WI: Government of India Act 1935 introduced in 1919

I'm not an expert but wouldn't the Indians still not be happy about having to fight WW2 (and famine in Bengal who will definitely break relations between the two) be enough to get independence? Britain has no way of maintaining India in its empire so they would probably still get independence before say 1950.
The Indian Army in WW2 was an volunteer force. Any soldier serving in it did so without any compulsion
The population in the British Raj still suffered a lot from the war, I doubt they would be very happy about the British if they are responsible for the Bengal Famine, and with better Indo-British relations they might try to conscript Indians (unless they do something else to anger them in the meantime).
IIRC over 3 million Indians served in the Indian Army IOTL (someone else will provide more accurate figures) making it the fourth largest Allied army of WWII after the Red Army, US Army and British Army. As as @Ramontxo wrote they were all volunteers and so were the tens of thousands of Indians that joined the RIN and IAF (which didn't become Royal until 12.03.45).

If as I expect the implementing the OTL 1935 Act in place of the OTL 1919 Act does lead to India becoming a dominion (with the same status as the other OTL dominions) in 1935 rather than 1947 then it's India that declares war on Germany in 1935 rather than India being dragged into the war whether it wanted to be or not.

In that case it would be the Indian Government of India rather than the British Government of India trying to conscript Indians. However, as million of Indians volunteered to fight for the British would there be any need to conscript Indians to fight for India? And if (as I think) India had been independent since 1935 how could they blame the British for the Bengal Famine if said famine still happened?

Last edited:
I'm not an expert but wouldn't the Indians still not be happy about having to fight WW2 . . .